ExRes 2012

AIA East  Bay announces its 2012 Design Awards, which focuses solely on residential projects in the nine Bay Area counties. We are pleased to present the 2012 Jury: John Carney, FAIA; Mary Griffin, FAIA; and Peter Pfau, FAIA.

Exceptional Residential: Bay Area Regional Design Awards is a unique design awards program. It was established to recognize the best in the Bay Area housing design. ExRes 2012 emphasizes the important impact excellent design has on everyday living.

Residential projects located in Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano, Sonoma Counties.  Projects must have been completed since September 1, 2005.

Applicant need not be a registered architect nor an AIA member, but must be responsible for the design of the project. All significant contributors to the design of the project must be given credit as part of the submission.

Awards Reception and Presentation:
6:00pm, Friday, July 13, 2012
AIA East Bay
1405 Clay Street
Oakland, CA 94612

$20 AIA East Bay Members/$30 Non-members
Includes a dinner reception, presentation by the jury of their own work, and the awards announcement.
Click here for tickets.

Please note: winning projects will not be announced prior to the Awards Presentation. We strongly encourage all entrants to attend the Awards Reception and Presentation.

2012 Jury

John Carney FAIA

John Carney, FAIA
Carney Logan Burke Architects
Jackson, WY

John Carney, FAIA is committed to expanding the design vocabulary of the mountain west while remaining grounded in tradition and local context. His reinterpretation of vernacular architecture synthesizes modernist and classical principles within a regional aesthetic. The firm’s range of projects includes private residences the Jackson Hole Center for the Arts Theatre and Music Pavilion, and the Laurance S. Rockefeller Preserve in Grand Teton National Park.


Mary Griffin FAIAMary Griffin, FAIA
Turnbull Griffin Haesloop Architects
San Francisco, CA

Mary Griffin is owner and principal of the award-winning firm Turnbull Griffin Haesloop Architects in San Francisco. Principal since 1986, she has served as juror for numerous architectural design competitions, including the AIA National Institute Honor Awards for Architecture, the AIA Honor Awards, the AIA LA Design Awards, and the Sunset Western Home Awards. Her firm’s work focuses on site-specific residential and small-scale institutional architecture, and has won over sixty awards, most consistently over the last two decades.

Peter Pfau FAIAPeter Pfau, FAIA
Pfau Long Architecture
San Francisco, CA

Peter W. Pfau, FAIA is a modernist who balances conceptual rigor with a love for building.  Peter established a passion for design and construction through training in the fine arts and working as a woodworker, carpenter and contractor.  Pfau Long Architecture award-winning projects including single family and multi-unit housing, educational facilities, exposition and museum spaces, and places of worship.  Evident in the firm’s work is an underlying commitment to thoughtful design, environmental stewardship, building craft and details, and an appeal to the emotional and experiential encounter of the user.

AIA East Bay thanks the following sponsors for their support of ExRes, design excellence and the architectural community.

American Soil & Stone
Associated Building Supply
Dealey Renton & Associates
Ideate, Inc
IOA Insurance
Jeld-Wen Windows & Doors
Pacific Coast Building Products

This entry was posted in Awards, Programs & Events and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.