Achievement Awards Call for Nominations

Nominations are open for the 2016 AIA East Bay Achievement Awards, to be announced during the Chapter Recognition Party on Thursday, May 26, 2016. Anyone, member or not, may submit a nomination in one or more of the following categories.

Please send a letter of nomination and any supporting materials to by 10am Wednesday, April 27, 2016.

Education Award:
To recognize those whose dedication and achievement has resulted in an important contribution to architectural education or the broadening of public awareness of the nature or importance of architects, architecture or the environment through their efforts in the literary, visual or media arts and education.

This award not only is directed towards architectural, environmental, and other educators, it is directed at writers, artists, and media people who, through their work inform the profession or the public in ways that broaden knowledge and/or experience.

Preservation Award:  
To recognize those who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in the preservation of our architectural or natural heritage.

Community Award:
To those who have contributed significantly to the implementation, programming, planning or design of a project or environment which is beneficial to the community, or performed outstanding service to the community or public through their  volunteer efforts.

This award recognizes outstanding efforts of members or non-members towards addressing the architectural needs of the underserved community, or fulfilling community architectural and/or environmental needs which might have not otherwise have been met, or to chapter members who have performed outstanding service to the community.

Practice and Technology Award:
For those who have contributed significantly to the advancement of architecture through research, improvements in architectural practice, management, marketing tactics, or technology.

Colleague Award:
To those whose work with architects as consultant, artist, craftsperson, or contractor has enhanced, supported and contributed to architecture. This award recognizes a career of outstanding service and/or achievement of consultants, artists, craftspersons and building contractors—or may recognize a singular outstanding achievement.

Honorary membership:
To an individual not eligible for membership in AIA but who has rendered distinguished service to the profession of architecture, the arts, or allied sciences; or made outstanding contributions to the improvement of architecture, the built environment or the community.  This is the highest award given to non-members by AIA East Bay.

This entry was posted in Awards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.